Women on Hookup Apps Going Full Lysistrata Over Abortion Rights

Don’t be surprised if the girl you match with tells you she’s taking a break from hookups.

Life of Adventure
3 min readMay 13, 2022

--

Photo by Vlad Kutepov on Unsplash

A poster on Reddit’s r/tinder sub shared a message that he found perplexing. He said hello to a woman he matched with and got this response:

Heyy, I would like to continue this conversation when I don’t feel that my reproductive rights are in danger. I hope you understand that I am not interested in hookups or even relationships at this point. You did nothing and in the future when I am interested, I’d like to see where this would go.

The confused OP responded, “you could just delete your Tinder LMAO” then promptly shared with the sub.

A lot of guys accused her of wanting attention and validation. Others said that it’d be more effective if she went out and protested. Only a few seemed to get that this is a protest.

Going Lysistrata

In the Greek play Lysistrata, the women of several Greek citystates are getting tired of the chaos caused by the Peloponnesian War. Led by Lysistrata, the women band together and make a pledge: no sex until peace is declared.

--

--

Life of Adventure

Writer, reader, sailor, cook. Learn how I create homemade meals in my tiny sailboat.